Alcohol & Other Drugs Committee


Re-established in 2018; Revised Dec. 2019

Advisory To:

Vice President for Student Affairs

Charge to Committee:


To promote wellbeing and student success by creating an environment in the SSU community that supports informed, lawful, wise decision-making and behavior related to alcohol and other drug use.


Advisory to the VPSA with regard to student substance use/misuse/abuse with the intention of promoting:

  • a safe living, learning, and working environment;

  • the use of critical thinking skills, self-awareness and personal/community responsibility;

  • healthy lifestyle choices and behaviors regarding alcohol and other drugs;

  • the collective alcohol and other drug educational resources available to SSU students.


Representatives from:

REACH, Student Involvement, Office of the Dean of Students, Faculty, Fraternity and Sorority Life, Athletics, Student Health, University Police, Sonoma County Department of Health Services, Students, Counseling and Psychological Services, Confidential Advocacy, Office for the Prevention of Harassment and Discrimination.

Term and Appointment:

Annual or by position

Meeting Schedule:

Third Monday of every month, from 1-2pm

      Current Year Membership (2020-2021)

      • Area Coordinator - vacant
      • Associate Dean of Students/Director of Student Conduct - Ben Ellis, Interim Director of Student Conduct
      • Athletics - Chelsea Hannen
      • Confidential Advocate - Susan Pulido
      • Counseling and Psychological Services - Andrew Kerlow-Myers
      • Dean of Students - Ryan Jasen Henne
      • Faculty Affairs:  Napoleon Reyes
      • Fraternity and Sorority Life Advisor - Leonard Serrato
      • Office for Prevention of Harrassment and Discrimination - Jennifer Edens
      • *REACH - Associate Director of Conduct - Ben Ellis
      • REACH Student  - Audrey Shiomoto, RHA
      • Sonoma County Department of Health Services - Donna Newman Fields
      • Student Athletic Advisory Board Student Rep - TBD
      • Student Health Center Director - Tracey Eaton, Interim SHC Director
      • *Student Involvement Director - Mo Phillips
      • Undergrad Student  Rep(appointed by AS) - TBD
      • University Police - Lee Swicegood


      Other Staff to Committee:

      Consulting Members

      • REACH Alcohol & Drug Prevention Educator - Steve MacDonald,
      • Hope Dealers Advisor - TBD