Basic Needs Executive Committee

Basic Needs Initiative

The California State University Basic Needs Initiative takes a holistic look at students' well-being both inside and outside the classroom, from housing and food security to mental health. Sonoma State is committed to supporting students' basic needs through Lobo Pantry and other food distribution programs, short-term emergency housing, and connecting students to on- and off-campus resources.

Health and wellness are foundational to student success. The Basic Needs Executive Committee was formed in the Fall of 2019 to provide administrative structure and oversight to the Basic Needs Task Force. The Executive Committee is charged to develop a Basic Needs Strategic Plan which is in alignment with the GI 2025 Initiative and the Division of Student Affairs Strategic Plan 2025. 

They are also charged with assessment of SSU’s Basic Needs programs and initiatives, resources management, administrative and financial planning, and marketing of resources available to students. They serve as the oversight committee and governing body for all Basic Needs initiatives at SSU and is charged with developing policies and procedures for said initiatives and programs.

The Basic Needs Executive Committee will work in tandem with the BNI Task Force to accomplish its goals.

Basic Needs Executive Committee Membership 2019-2020

  • David Crozier, Associate Vice President for Administration and Finance, Financial Services

  • Erik Dickson, AS Executive Director (Chair)

  • Susan Gutierrez, Financial Aid Director

  • Ian Hannah, Assistant Vice President for Advancement Operations

  • Gerald L. Jones, Senior Director for Center for Academic Access & Student Enrichment

  • Melissa Kadar, Executive Vice President, Associated Students

  • Neil Markley, Associate Vice President for Administration and Finance, Entrepreneurial Activities

  • Gordon McDougall, Vice President for Advancement

  • Laura Monje-Paulson, Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs

  • Hilary Smith, Chair, Student Affairs Committee

  • Mark Stapp, Development Officer

  • Dr. Laura Williams, Director of Counseling & Psychological Services